Skip to content

Spurs looking to balance their priorities : Fan view

August 20, 2010

In my ideal world, Spurs would pip Arsenal for the EPL title, reach the CL quarters, and win both the Mickey Mouse and FA Cup. OK I can dream! But one of the toughest thing about being a fan and a football blogger is being subjective about your own team’s expectations. Last season, in my podcast, I stated that I would have been very happy to win the FA Cup, and finish in 5th place. After Pompey knocked the stuffing out of Spurs in the FA Cup semis, with impending games against Man City, Chelsea and Arsenal to come, I thought my dreams would be crushed into oblivion. But 2 fantastic performances from Gareth Bale gave me something I could never dream of, at least not last season, and that was qualification for the UCL!

This season, the expectations shift again. After a dismal game on the AstroTurf (no seriously, I’m not blaming the pitch – pfffftt!!) of Young Boys, my first target would be to actually beat Young Boys at WHL, and get into the UCL proper. Should this happen, all I ask for is a decent CL campaign, and not end up struggling in the league. For me, this is the first time in a very long time, that Spurs have something different to look forward to. Usually we get dissed by most pundits and other fans that Spurs always claim “This is the season to break the top 4”. And when that was broken last year, I suddenly did not know what I wanted from this season.

At the end of the day, I would still prioritise the EPL over the UCL. Sure the UCL gives more TV coverage and increase the club’s coffers and reputation, but we’ve all seen what happened to other clubs that broke the top 4 and played the UCL. Leeds and until recently, Newcastle, ended up playing lower division football. Blackburn themselves got relegated but eventually worked their way back up. Everton, on the other hand, who qualified for the UCL but failed to get into the UCL proper, maintained a level of consistency which should be copied around Europe. Of course the main difference with the 4 teams is that Everton kept pretty much the same team year in and year out, while the others had visions of UCL glory, and spent money they didn’t have. This policy has been shown to be true for EPL clubs, and even in Spain where Mallorca, are now broke. I am happy to take criticisms from people saying that Spurs have barely brought anyone in this season, and maintain their status as a top 4 side in the league, than to do a Leeds. Call me old fashioned, but I’ll take another top 4 position, and perhaps a cup win, over a one-off UCL campaign.

Of course this is just my own view. I’ve spoken to other Spurs fans who believe that we can do well in the league, cups and UCL, and if it does happen, I’ll be very happy to eat my words. But the realist in me says that maintaining that high level of consistency in the league is a much harder act to follow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Foggy permalink
    August 20, 2010 12:53 pm

    It’s going to be even harder this season to get back into the top four,after all Liverpool look as though they have been revitalized,City have some great players although I’m unsure as to how well they play as a unit and as for Villa and Everton they continue to improve year upon year.

    The main concern for me however is how we cope with defensive minded teams,after all this will be the formula we come up against continually from now on,at least until we show we have found a way to counter said negativity.

  2. Acton_Yid permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:30 pm

    I disagree Foggy, I think this year could be our “defining hour”…Beat Young Boys at WHL and the CL door opens to us…a good run in that, coupled with a good run in the FA Cup (Final or Semi) and a good finish in the PL, minimum top 6 and possibly another 4th place and suddenly we’re looking a serious outfit ! My team for Stoke: Cudicini, Kaboul, Dawson, Bassong, Assou-Ekotto, Dos Santos, Palacios, Kranjcar, Rose, Crouch, Keane (Subs: Gomes, Walker, Naughton, Jenas, Pav). COYS !

Leave a Reply

