Skip to content

And the winner is …. Spain?!?!

July 5, 2010

Biting the hand that feeds it

Paul the Octopus has decided that it will bite the hand that feeds it by predicting a Spanish victory in the semi finals. Could it be that Paul knows some things we already did but did not acknowledge?

My thoughts refer to the suspension of Thomas Mueller for the game against Spain. Since the group stage, Mueller has been key for Germany. At first, people were talking about Mesut Ozil but now everyone is chanting Mueller’s name.

But all good things must come to an end. Is this where Paul’s streak ends? If you are like me and have had more than a few quid placed on games during the World Cup, you will do well to heed Paul’s advice. I have had money on a Spanish conquest at the office pool and Paul seems to think I’d go close to claiming a victory, but as I predicted at least one game ending in penalties in the round of 16 and in the quarterfinals, my instincts are starting to tell me that Paul will eventually get one wrong. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that my baptism name is Paul?

No matter, as this article’s only purpose is to confuse the betting man even more, and regardless of what happens in the other semi, my personal feel is that the winner of the world cup will be the winner of this tie, and Paul the Octopus will have his influence on my thoughts, until the game is over.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

