Skip to content

Man Utd: War of the keepers?

November 6, 2009

Kuszczakandvandersar_2381250

It seems staying too much in Van Der Sar’s shadow has taken a toll on Kuszczak and eventually tension has settled down between the two keepers, although Sir Alex has tried to play down the incident after Kuszczak was quoted on an interview with MUTV as:

To be honest, I must say this – and Edwin doesn’t like this too much for sure – but he doesn’t help me too much.

I have told him a few times already to give me some more advice because he’s got more experience and got many more games under his belt.

I say, ‘You have to give me something more because I like to know what I do wrong and like to watch other people. Doing that I can take some good from the advice I get.

But I don’t know, maybe Edwin doesn’t like me. You’ll have to ask him.

Although Sir Alex is now saying that Kuszczak was only joking when he gave that interview, the tension certainly seems to be rising at Old Trafford, given that Igor Akinfeev is believed to be in talks for an eventual transfer in January, and one keeper will be sacrificed in the process between either Kuszczak and Foster, while VDS is deciding whether to retire soon or add another season on his contract.

 

Share

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 4:52 pm

    Sounds like sour grapes to me. But it would be disappointing for me if it was true that VDS is not willing to help PIG. Anyhow, Akinfeev is good, but not Man United good. Bring on Adler!

  2. Hush permalink
    November 6, 2009 5:18 pm

    If Kuszczak wants to harbour any chance of becoming Sir Alex’s first choice he shouldn’t really be speaking out like that. I think he is one of those keepers who is naturally a great shot stopper. But when it comes do making decisons from crosses or set peices he doesn’t have the resolve that Man Utd crave.

    I was hopeful Foster would come on leaps and bounds this season, if only to cement his place in the England team. Looks inevitable now that Akinfeev will arrive at OT sooner or later.

  3. November 6, 2009 6:50 pm

    apparently it was a joke, says fergie..

  4. November 7, 2009 11:56 am

    Fergie:

    “It is just not true,” he told reporters at his Friday press conference.
    “Tomasz was cracking a joke. He was laughing when he said it.

    “There is no problem between him and Edwin – maybe it is just that Polish humour doesn’t translate to British humour.”

    End of story

  5. January 9, 2010 2:36 pm

    Glad to see it was only a joke as i think both keepers are quality and its nice to see there still friends.

Leave a Reply

