Skip to content

Shortlists announced for FIFA World Player Award

October 30, 2009

Last year's winners Marta and Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA has today announced the names of the players on the shortlists and the final decision will be made by the captains and head coaches of the men’s and women’s national teams (they may not vote for players from the national team they coach or play for).

The lists of 23 male and ten female candidates for these prestigious awards have been drawn up by football experts from the Football Committee and the Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The following 23 men (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the title of FIFA World Player 2009;

Michael Ballack (Germany)

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)

Iker Casillas (Spain)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

Diego (Brazil)

Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)

Michael Essien (Ghana)

Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)

Steven Gerrard (England)

Thierry Henry (France)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)

Andrés Iniesta (Spain)

Kaká (Brazil)

Frank Lampard (England)

Luis Fabiano (Brazil)

Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Carles Puyol (Spain)

Franck Ribéry (France)

Wayne Rooney (England)

John Terry (England)

Fernando Torres (Spain)

David Villa (Spain)

Xavi (Spain).

The following ten women (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the title of FIFA Women’s World Player 2009;

Nadine Angerer (Germany)

Sonia Bompastor (France)

Cristiane (Brazil)

Inka Grings (Germany)

Mana Iwabuchi (Japan)

Simone Laudehr (Germany)

Marta (Brazil)

Birgit Prinz (Germany)

Kelly Smith (England)

Abby Wambach (USA).

At the beginning of December, FIFA will announce the names of the five men and five women who have received the most votes and the winners will be revealed at the 19th FIFA World Player Gala at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 21 December 2009.

Which five would you vote for?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2009 6:13 am

    Xavi, Iniesta, Messi, Cristiano and Torres, in this order.

  2. November 1, 2009 11:04 am

    This is Messi’s by a mile

  3. November 3, 2009 8:12 am

    1st: Messi
    2nd: Xavi
    3rd: Ronaldo

    Next Year: Rooney =)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: