Skip to content

Ballon d’Or Nominations 2009

October 18, 2009


The nominations are out for this year’s Ballon d’Or, last years winner Cristiano Ronaldo is one of the favourites to win.

The European champions Spain are the best represented nation with six players listed, whilst the La Liga boasts the most players from a single league with twelve. The Premier League is next best with ten players while Serie A has just four. There are no players from the current world champions Italy.

Barcelona top the list in terms of club representation with six players – Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Thierry Henry, Andrés Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Yaya Touré and Xavi. Chelsea and Manchester United both have three players selected on the list, the Blues’ nominees are the England captain John Terry, Frank Lampard and Didier Drogba.  Manchester United’s selection Ryan Giggs,  Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic.

Andrey Arshavin (Arsenal)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Diego (Juventus)

Didier Drogba (Chelsea)

Edin Dzeko (Wolfsburg)

Samuel Eto’o (Internazionale)

Cesc Fàbregas (Arsenal)

Fernando Torres (Liverpool)

Diego Forlán (Atletico Madrid)

Steven Gerrard(Liverpool)

Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)

Yoann Gourcuff (Bordeaux)

Thierry Henry (Barcelona)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Barcelona)

Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona)

Júlio César (Internazionale)

Kaká (Real Madrid)

Frank Lampard (Chelsea)

Maicon (Internazionale)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Luís Fabiano (Seville)

Franck Ribéry (Bayern Munich)

Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

John Terry (Chelsea)

Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)

David Villa (Valencia)

Xavi (Barcelona)

Yaya Touré (Barcelona).

The Ballon d’Or is voted for by journalists and organised by France Football magazine. The winner will be announced on December 1 st 2009.

Who do you think deserves to win?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2009 5:39 pm

    I think this one’s Messi’s

  2. October 18, 2009 5:44 pm

    I think Messi shouldn’t be this year’s winner. But y’all know this guys who give the Ballon d’Or are French, don’t you? So yeah, none of ours will get it this time.

  3. October 18, 2009 7:19 pm

    Definitely Messi as he was decisive in Barcelona’s treble.

  4. October 18, 2009 9:04 pm

    Did they miss Frank Queudrue off the list? gutted!

    Seriously, Messi or Iker Casillas for me. If there’s not one already what about an inaugural award for services to European footy? Nailed on first (?) winner Giggsy, a decent bloke, a decent footballer player and worthy recipient.

  5. KOKO permalink
    October 18, 2009 9:23 pm

    i personally go 4 Ryan giggs 4 career achievement n coz he deserve it more than anyone…. n messi is too young may be hell loose motivation

  6. October 18, 2009 10:41 pm

    Criteria normally is the following:

    ‘Mr Player did your team win the Champions League?’ if yes move on to next question..

    ‘Mr Player are you considered one of the elite players in the world, and did you score a really big goal in the final’

    so yes, its Messi’s this year, like Ron the year before.

    Outside bet would be Iniesta, or maybe even Ronaldo again.

  7. October 19, 2009 1:06 am

    Tasty looking shortlist, can’t think who should be but isn’t on it.
    Give Cristiano a full season in Madrid and maybe this time next year.
    In cricket speak, Lionel Messi could declare now and still stroll home.

  8. October 19, 2009 6:43 am

    Ideally, my pick would be Iniesta. Not only did he win both the Champions League but he also got his hands on the Euros with Spain.

    And he was damn influential for both teams in getting them to click.

    But the trophy hardly ever goes to the best player on the pitch. Its always the most marketable players that win it. I think the Football’s player’s player of the year is a better trophy cos its chosen by your peers in recognition of yr efforts.

  9. Akin permalink
    October 19, 2009 6:54 am

    Giggs should get it as he deserve it for playing so many years with great form

  10. October 19, 2009 11:02 am

    Of course it’s gonnER be Arshavin!

  11. October 19, 2009 11:27 am

    Surely it’s gotta be Iniesta!!

  12. October 19, 2009 2:24 pm

    Arshavin? HAHA, yeah sure. What did he win last season? And what did he do apart of scoring 4 goals in Anfield? I love that player, but I don’t think he should be in the top 5.

    Ryan Giggs should have one or two Ballons d’Or, as Maldini, Raúl, Baresi, and sooooo on, but they don’t sell so many shirts as….Michael Owen do? LOL.

  13. ALO permalink
    October 19, 2009 11:38 pm

    for sure

  14. Aris permalink
    October 20, 2009 6:29 am

    Ryan Giggs? you gotta be kidding me.

    • October 20, 2009 12:10 pm

      I didn’t say he should get it this year, I meant he should have one as a reward for his succesful career, as well as Maldini, Raúl or Baresi should also have one.

  15. Tenzin permalink
    October 20, 2009 4:38 pm

    No dough, this year Ballon d’Or going to be Messi,

  16. Michele permalink
    November 6, 2009 11:15 am

    Cant believe that they have missed Raul and Higuain from this list… How many records does a man have to break!!!!!


  1. Ballon d’Or shortlist down to 10 « WDKF | Qualified Football Arm Chair Managers Slash Pundits

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: