Skip to content

QPR? Reserves? He’s Every f***ingwhere, Joe Cole!

October 6, 2009

Cole

Good news for Chelsea Blues despite a 0-2 Reserves loss to Arsenal yesterday: Joe Cole is making more moves to return to the Bridge full force.

Match reports state Cole was looking fully fit yesterday and even showing increased strength towards match end, despite looking shaky in Chelsea’s League Cup tie with QPR last week.

Per CFC Assistant Manager Ray Wilkins, “It’s nice to see them come back in. When you can’t use someone of Joe’s ability, any side would miss him. He has that bit of fantasy that can open up defenses, so we have missed him. But we’ve coped without him and now we’ll have something different now he’s come back.”

Cole ruptured a cruciate in January against Southend in an FA cup match, and suffered set backs this summer. After his return to 90 minutes of first squad football last week, Cole Stated:

“This is s stepping stone for me. It’s not a case of saying I’m back or anything like that. This is just another step and I will keep working hard and get back to the top of my game and beyond as soon as I can.
I don’t think it’s as much about me playing 90 minutes in the Premier League. You have to get the knee used to all the movement and all the twisting and turning which is a big part of my game. If I am back to my best on Saturday, or next week or next month we will have to see. All I can do is work hard in training. I’m pleased with the performance, I helped to make the goal. I should have scored myself but I am delighted that I was not off the pace. I was among the action. When the ball is out of play you look around you and take it all in. You say ‘I’m back, this is blinding’. I know there will be lots of ups and downs from here.”

And despite Chelsea Manager Carlo Ancelotti’s decree that Cole is fit and ready for a recall to the England squad, it appears Fabio Capello will have the midfielder prove himself before he earns that honor.

It seems good things are happening for Joe Cole.  He and wife Carly have recently announced they are expecting their first child together. Congratulations! I’m considering sending her a hairbrush as a shower gift.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. maserati4200 permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:53 pm

    If Joe is fit for the World Cup, it will be a huge plus for England and another great option for the Fab one.

    • October 6, 2009 7:03 pm

      I like Joe Cole, on and off the pitch. Seems like a solid guy.

      • October 6, 2009 10:34 pm

        I agree KP, he’s a good role model for kids and hasn’t let fame get the better of him.

Leave a Reply

