Skip to content

Berbatov: ‘I Am A Failure!’

October 2, 2009

Dimitar-Berbatov-001

It seems that Dimitar Berbatov is a much more honest bloke than your average egomaniac footballer

We all see the Bulgarian as a man who is carefree, waltzing around the pitch as if on a fairground carousel. But it appears that Mr B has recognised his lack of spark from the 2008/9 season, and now wishes to publicly address this

Berba said:

DIMITAR BERBATOV SMOKING“In my first year I was disappointed in myself. I need to say that. It was a big pressure for me and maybe I failed myself. I think I wanted to prove myself to these supporters. You must remember, they are used to Best, Charlton, Cantona. I am just Dimitar. I got a number of assists, but I must score more goals. I don’t know what I am doing wrong sometimes. Maybe it’s luck, maybe it’s me… who knows? At nights I have stayed awake thinking, ‘You could have done this instead’. My nerves were too much and that is my responsibility.”

He has also fired a shot at those that insist that he is a lazy arse by saying that he is a “bit of a nerd” when it comes to movement statistics, and that he was fourth in the whole team for distance covered last term. However, he does not blame the fans for their preconceptions about his style. He said:

“That is my fault, not theirs, It is me who must change. Manchester United are their club. They have treated me perfectly since I came.”

Already though, he is happier this season:

“I am more pleased with my overall game in this second season already,” he said. “I feel that I have integrated myself better into the team. I am much stronger, much fitter. But I still wish I could score more.”

Berba’s words will come as a refreshing change to the common football fan. A man that is brave enough to hold up his hands and publicly criticise himself. I personally think that he did not have a bad season last year, but a quiet, average one. Old Trafford used to be described as the ‘strikers graveyard’ in the 1980s before the Ferguson era. Many top players had signed for the club in the forward positions, and had never really been able to grasp what it took to be a United player (Even Mark Hughes would rarely score, despite being a fan favourite). Then we had Eric Cantona sign for the club and all that changed. I still believe that it takes players at least a year to settle into United life. We didn’t see the best of Ronaldo for 3 years. Rooney is still not what you call a ‘prolific’ goalscorer. And i think Valencia will suffer the same bedding in period this year.

Berbatov is a quality player. There is no doubting that. But United are not Tottenham. He will not be the centre of everything. However, if he can get 20 goals this season the fans will be signing his name from here to Asia.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 12:57 pm

    Poor Vlad Dracul.

    In the words of Ian Brown:
    “Keep yourself onside, my son,
    And the world is yours.”

  2. maserati4200 permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:22 pm

    My wife has got the hots for Berba as a result of this pic, i.e. – tan; swept back hair; the urban-jungle-chic look and; the ciggie strategically hanging out of the side of said Berba’s gob.

    He’s her new David Ginola.

  3. October 2, 2009 8:18 pm

    He never said ” I’m a failure “! You guys are being like the Sun

    Unless ur trying to be funny, and I don’t get it! lol…

    • October 2, 2009 8:40 pm

      I guess we were taking liberties when he said “I failed myself” or “I don’t know what I am doing wrong sometimes” or “I have stayed awake thinking, ‘You could have done this instead” or “That is my fault, not theirs, It is me who must change.”

      “I wish I was taller. I cannot reach high things. I have to take all my trousers to the tailor.” Suppose I haven’t said “I’m short” but you know….

    • October 2, 2009 9:20 pm

      erm firstly ‘i am a failure’ is not in quotation marks..it is not a direct quote..secondly he said “It was a big pressure for me and maybe I failed myself” But make of it what you will..he used the words ‘fail’ and ‘myself’ in the same sentence. Bite me

      It was a humorous swipe at all the United fans that trawl the interweb slagging Mr Berbatov off calling him a failure

      That is the end of the explanation. The Sun costs 20p (i think) whereas we are free…and tell the truth

      • October 2, 2009 9:46 pm

        People only cough up that 20p for the page 3 boobs anyway.

  4. October 3, 2009 7:48 am

    Man United fans in Brunei always criticised Berbatov. He shoots a lot but score less. For me, he can’t challenge F. Torres yet if he stays like this. Not even Owen.

  5. October 3, 2009 8:48 am

    Andy Garcia anyone?

  6. Shallowgirl permalink
    October 3, 2009 9:34 am

    I couldn’t give a toss how he plays. That picture does it for me BIG TIME. Always happy to make a meaningful contribution to the discussions!

  7. October 3, 2009 1:38 pm

    Well still time to turn his failure into success, with Owen now injured for about 3weeks, he has to score some goals in the coming games and win hearts around

  8. October 6, 2009 11:34 am

    lol, that’s a good point. But he never said I failed! but whatever, the suns shit, and berba’s class!

    @Rob I never said u don’t tell the truth, WDKF is one of my fav sites! :D

Leave a Reply

