Skip to content

Paddy McCourt Goal St Mirren 0 – 2 Celtic

September 29, 2009

Not bad, Paddy.

Bring back the George Best hair please.

I’m not loving this clean cut look.

Celtic currently sit top of the Scottish Premiership with 16 pts, followed by Rangers and Hibs with 12 pts each.

And Paddy McCourt has been generating a lot of buzz at the Glasgow club since the 25 year old Northern Irishmen transfered from Derry last year.

Under Gordon Strachen, McCourt was used as a substitute, but with Tony Mowbray at the helm, the winger has been starting….and he’s been scoring.

“It’s the first time I’ve played two games in a week for a long time and I was feeling it towards the end. But it’s nice to get a couple of goals. It’s brilliant just to be involved at this club. It’s something I’ve always dreamed of doing.

When I came from Derry City I was nowhere near ready to play here. I was lucky that my ability was getting me through games in the League of Ireland.  The jump in terms of fitness was massive for me and it took my body a while to come to terms with it.  Luckily this year I’ve been able to get a full pre-season and do every day at training without any set-backs.

Nowadays wingers have to track back as well as create, and that’s not a natural part of my game.  I enjoy the attacking side of the game and trying to beat players but I need to work on my defensive side.  If I can blend the two together hopefully I can be a regular in the side.  Aiden McGeady and Shaun Maloney are the first-choice wingers at the minute. But it’s a challenge to get in the side with those two fantastic players in front of me.

All I can do is do my best when I get the chance and hopefully score a few goals.”

-Paddy McCourt

That’s great.  But really.  Return the coiffure to it’s pinnacle state. Ta.

paddymccourt

5 Comments leave one →
  1. I like the girl in your avatar permalink
    September 29, 2009 11:13 am

    Hi everybody, i’m a soccer fan and i’m following this blog/site for a month now, and i find many interesting news/articles, so thanks a lot and keep up the good work!

    @ Katie,

    I’m curious about the girl in your avatar, if you don’t mind me asking, is that you? or is she a singer/celeb?

    • September 29, 2009 11:42 am

      Sir Ryan Giggs will not be very pleased you couldn’t recognise his missus!

    • September 29, 2009 12:08 pm

      It’s Me.
      Not a singer- can’t carry a tune to save my life. :-P

      Thanks for reading our blog!

      • September 29, 2009 2:20 pm

        Just so you all know Katie is wearing a mask in her avatar. She’s a bit of a stinker in real life (awaits female fist in the face)

        A singer..LOL!

  2. September 29, 2009 12:34 pm

    Oh look. McCourt’s been recalled by N. Ireland.
    We’ve done well, WDKF. I give credit to this article.
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12040_5592853,00.html

Leave a Reply

