Skip to content

FA announce Women’s Super League

September 28, 2009

SuperLeague

The FA has announced today an 8 club Women’s Super League commencing in 2011, originally this was for 2010 but due to financial uncertainty following UK television broadcasters  Setanta collapse, it has been delayed a year.

The FA hopes this will stop England players leaving for America and FA Chairman Lord Triesman said “The launch of The FA Women’s Super League will help us take female football to a new and unprecedented level, increasing overall participation in what is now officially the most popular female team sport in the country.”

This all seems a very positive move for Women’s football and I’m sure they are under even more pressure with Gerry Sutcliffe’s (England’s Sports Minister) admittance last week that the FA is failing to meet the criteria set for them four years ago.

The application process starts in October 2009 and I will keeping a keen eye to see how this progresses.

Also I’m going to The London FA Women’s Football Forum on the 14th October at White Hart Lane, there will be a guest panel of Jacqui Oatley (BBC Radio and Match of the Day commentator), Rachel Pavlou (National Women’s & Girls’ Football Development Manager) plus others – including an Female England International Player.

The London FA have seen our posts from last week and are keen for me to do a piece on here about the forum. I’ve obviously got a few questions of my own but if there is anyone else who wants to know anything; drop me a comment below and I’ll be sure to do my hardest to ask for you!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 2:36 pm

    Wow thats fantastic news! Would they be interested in promoting WDKF? haha..
    Women Do Know Football!! WDKF!! =D

    • September 28, 2009 4:05 pm

      I love the “Women Do Know Football!! WDKF!!”

      • September 28, 2009 6:20 pm

        Well with at least 3 female writers on the list of which yourself and KP are very active in the sport, I don’t see why we can’t do our bit to help out. I understand its not everyone’s cup of tea but no harm trying.

        And yes I’m taking a stab at marketing WDKF by using “Women do know football” as a slogan haha…..

      • September 28, 2009 7:55 pm

        I like that slogan, might use it at the forum!

  2. maserati4200 permalink
    September 28, 2009 5:42 pm

    One of the main reasons that women (and men) go the US to play football is for college/university scholarships. The best can get bursaries of $25K per annum, or more – plus an education.

    I can’t see the FA or HM Gov competing with that.

  3. September 28, 2009 6:14 pm

    Ah, the power of the pen..or in our case..keyboard

    So what did they say to you sarah?? v interested.

    • September 28, 2009 7:28 pm

      After I posted my post on here I also posted it on my blog, twitter etc and then got a few messages from clubs saying they were glad we were on their side and I found out about this forum and got a contact name.

      Sent them an email with links to both mine and KP’s posts and asked if I could attend and also if I could do a piece on it for here. Got a reply this morning and she was really happy with the articles and the website, and also happy for me to write about it!

      Haven’t asked if I can take my camera but I have an iPhone so i’ll be going photo crazy! Lol

      • September 28, 2009 7:44 pm

        Bloody good work Sarah..spreading the WDKF word..the force is strong in you.

        Looking forward to your article on the subject..and yes..get LOTS of pics please

      • September 28, 2009 7:52 pm

        Will do!

        Very excited about it!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Be a Tiger! Be a Tiger! - - The Offside - Women's Professional Soccer blog

Leave a Reply

