Skip to content

Sol-Gay or Not?

September 20, 2009

Sol with girlfriend Fiona BarrattWho you calling GAY???

I was surfing around when I came across this article..

Sol has had several accusations of being gay in the past. His brother went to jail for beating a guy up to protect his brother’s name.

Sol definitely doesn’t mind being called gay. He goes on with his life. At times, he makes it clear with pictures like above saying, “who you calling gay?”, and then he goes out of them limb to say “its okay to be gay”

As a supporter, I don’t have a problem with gays, but I can understand why those that play amongst gays might do. Whats the saying? “Its okay to be gay, as along as it’s not with me?” lol.

Does anyone know if that Gay Representative actually got anywhere? Any follow ups on that?

I personally don’t think he is as I find Sol pretty good looking. He would definitely make my top 36. (:

Share

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 7:45 am

    dont know if i told you this before, but we went clubbing once and we met him. it was kinda weird since most footballers are surrounded with girls at clubs, but campbell had all guys in his area and some quite camp – not that theres anything wrong with it.

    then by next weekend, everyone was talking if he was gay or not. i might have rolled the ball on that one.

  2. September 22, 2009 12:26 pm

    Wow.
    Obviously every writer for WDKF will have differing points of view and opinions. We support each other but my apologies to the gay community. Seriously. :-(

    • September 22, 2009 3:22 pm

      Its funny how different people react on the subject of sexuality. Personally i dont get any of it..couldnt give a toss if youre gay, straight, bi, black, white, jew, muslim, blah blah blah. They are all labels, and generally, labels are not a good thing. In today’s society there is no room for any sort of prejudice..if you feel effected by it then you have serious issues in yourself and your own self-esteem

      I dont think Campbell is gay, but i do think he’s a bit of a cock.

  3. Ben permalink
    September 22, 2009 2:38 pm

    Um. ‘I don’t have problem with gays, but…’

    It’s the 21st century. The people you fancy, whether guys or girls, has nothing at all to do with how well you can do your job whether you are a footballer or a doctor or a soldier or whatever.

    It’s got nothing to do with how attractive you are either.

  4. Neil permalink
    September 22, 2009 3:20 pm

    This is a very poor post based on a self confessed spoof article written in Oct 2008. Apart from the obviously mindless and lazy nature of the above do you seriously think it is appropriate or acceptable to write “As a supporter……blah blah blah”. Why not try changing the word gay for black – doesn’t look to clever does it? No. But surely the implications are the same.

    What’s the saying? “Keep your inanities to yourself, you idiot” – how about that one.

  5. September 22, 2009 3:46 pm

    The author of this article has written 7 posts in two years.
    Please understand this work does not represent the views and opinions of many other authors who frequently post 7 times in 7 days.
    Thank you for reading.

    • Neil permalink
      September 22, 2009 3:53 pm

      Understood. I do enjoy reading the regular posters and this certainly wont stop me. Probably time to start flexing those keyboard fingers a little more myself.

    • September 22, 2009 3:54 pm

      ..what Katie just said. Ditto

    • September 22, 2009 4:47 pm

      Would also like to say that I don’t believe the author of this article is a hate-monger in any way, but perhaps didn’t think thoroughly about the way phrasing would be perceived.

  6. September 22, 2009 5:31 pm

    Gay or not, to me he is still Judas. Thanks for watching!

  7. beautifulfootball permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:48 pm

    Oh my god. It seems that the readers have clearly misunderstood what I was trying to say. I apologize for the way you perceived this but I did not mean it like that.

    I was just surfing and found that article and I was wondering if it was true, if anything had actually been done to support the gay community because I remember when the hype of the question whether or not Sol was gay came up.

    I completely agree that being gay, straight, bi, black, jew or muslim has nothing to with how well you do your job.

    In today’s society, there are always going to be those people who are conservative, who do not agree with gay marriages, those who are homophobic, because everyone has their differences in opinions. I dont agree with it but let’s face it, labels will always be there, because it is human. I was simply trying to say that I am not one of those people. I have plenty of gay friends, so if i thought this article was in any way offensive, I would have never wrote it.

    My apologies again.

    • September 22, 2009 6:21 pm

      Judas issue aside, I’m with nn aka beautiful football here. Labels have existed long before the first football was ever kicked.

      And I have no issues with gays being in the community. I have a dance crew made up of 2 males and 2 females. My male partner is in fact, openly gay. I have no problems with him and in fact, we have a good time hanging out. But I still like my Lucy Pinders and I’m sure KP could be mentioned in the same sentence.

      If there exists gay footballers, I don’t see why they should be marked for their sexual preference. The ref would be able to see when the player is purposely pulling down some guy’s short, and even if he did do it, he couldn’t possibly be pulling on it long enough to be deemed of sexual harassment could he?

      For other references, in the NBA (basketball in the USA for those who don’t know), this issue of gay players came up a while back. I can’t remember his surname, but he played center for the Charlotte Hornets (no longer in existence btw!) and his first name was John. He openly admitted being gay after he retired from the game, which, caused a massive stir, and led to then Miami Heat guard Tim Hardaway gay-bashing on a phone-in session.

  8. September 22, 2009 7:07 pm

    And 60 years ago Jackie Robinson playing baseball caused a big stir and now we all think it was ridiculous that his race was an even an issue or topic of discussion.
    Anyway, beautiful football apparently hearts the gays so moving on….

    Despite what Marcello Lippi may think, I’m sure there are plenty of gay footballers and it has f*** all to do with anything on the pitch. Off the pitch? Bring me a story of a footballer and dude who is the male equivalent of Nereida Gellardo or Paris Hilton and you better believe I’m going to write about it. Equal opportunity gossiper.

Leave a Reply

