Skip to content

Liverpool name Champions League squad

September 6, 2009

Liverpool have announced their 28-man squad for the first group stage of this season’s Champions League. A couple of players will be unknown to the majority of people, but Liverpool’s lack of squad depth gives the chance for some youngsters to hopefully make an impression.

The squad is as follows:

Diego Cavalieri
Pepe Reina
David Martin

Glen Johnson
Daniel Agger
Fabio Aurelio
Sotirios Kyrgiakos
Emiliano Insua
Jamie Carragher
Stephen Darby
Martin Kelly
Martin Skrtel
Andrea Dossena

Alberto Aquilani
Steven Gerrard
Yossi Benayoun
Javier Mascherano
Lucas Leiva
Jay Spearing
Damien Plessis
Albert Riera

Fernando Torres
Andriy Voronin
Dirk Kuyt
Ryan Babel
David N’Gog
David Amoo
Nathan Eccleston

No surprises then as Liverpool go in search of a 3rd Champions League Final appearance in 5 years. There’s a chance of a competition debut for a number of youngsters, although the probability is that they’ll only be called upon if completely necessary. C’mon the Reds!

Back Pages

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 6, 2009 3:02 pm

    One word…Lucas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: