Skip to content

USMNT Striker Freddy Adu loaned to Belenenses

August 31, 2009

adu

Benfica have loaned 20 year old American striker Freddy Adu out to another Portuguese side, Lisbon based Belenenses, after a reported attempted move to Danish club Odense fell through.

Freddy tweeted:

“ok for those who dont know i just completed a 1 year loan move to Belenenses. And im excited to join the team tomorrow for training”

Adu signed for Benfica in the Summer of 2007, but failed to see much time on the pitch.  He was loaned to Monaco for the 2008-2009 season and returned to Portugal this summer after the Ligue 1 side decided not to make a bid for the striker’s permanent services.

I hope to see Freddy flourish at Belenenses because I remember hearing about this 14 year old Wunderkind who had signed for DC United as a first pick in the MLS Superdraft in 2004.  In all honesty, I don’t think he’s truly delivered yet.  But being only 20, he’s got time to reach his potential. When rumors persisted that Adu may have actually signed for Manchester United in 2006, I remember finding it all a bit ridiculous.

But he’s American, he started his football career here in DC, and he grew up in the town in which I live now. So I support him, and I wish him the best.

Just under 24 hours of transfer window to go.

Who will be next?

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 2:19 am

    ah, the enigma that is freddy adu. so much hype when he first came 0n the scene, but so far failed to deliver. he’s like football’s michelle wie.

    but as you said hes only 20. theres still time to do something about it.

  2. September 1, 2009 3:10 am

    I don’t know. When I was 5 I was the tallest kid in my kindergarten and everyone assumed I’d keep growing at that rate.
    And um I capped out at 5’2″ I can wear a child’s medium.
    Maybe he was overhyped and peaked young.
    But I’d sure like him to show me wrong.

  3. September 2, 2009 3:28 am

    I saw an interview on letterman a while back where they got him to juggle with his nose or something ridiculous like that.

    He got noticed at a time when the mls needed some kind of messiah to herald in a new soccer age *cough*beckham*cough* in the states so that would probably explain why he “decided” to stay in DC instead of flying off to europe in ’04.

Leave a Reply

