Skip to content

Arjen Robben off to Allianz? Real Madrid look to unload Benjamin Button for €25 million

August 27, 2009

robben

Very Sneaky, Real Madrid.

Finalize transfers while the rest of the football obsessed world is stuck in UEFA draw mode.

Well, it looks like my hopes to bring Robben to Old Trafford have been upset by Bayern Munchen

Reportedly, the Dutch winger flew to Munich Thursday to finalize what is reported to be a €25 million bid.

But Arjen isn’t interested in the German club, even with the promise of free beer flowing like a river through the Allianz.

At the airport he told reporters he’d prefer to stay with the Galacticos.

“I didn’t want to go.  It’s all I can say to the fans. But the club wanted to sell me and well (there’s been) a lot of lies and in the end I also have to decide for myself because I also want to play.”

It was obvious to anyone who got to see the Real Madrid preseason match in Washington DC just how hungry the Dutchman is to make an impression on manager Manuel Pellegrini.  Robben was subbed on in the second half, and the scoring started to flow.  While Cristiano Ronaldo and Kaka and other huge Los Blancos stars played a very cautious match, Robben came on like a man possessed.

And Munich are in need of an improvement with three losses thus far in the Bundesliga 09-10 season.  And with Dutchman Louis van Gaal at the helm of the club, although reluctant now, I think Arjen could see himself grow well with the Reds, alongside Franck Ribery and other massive European talent.
He may look 50, but Robben is only 25, and he has many years of development to come.

Truth-o-meter on this one?

I’m buying it.  Real Madrid President Florentino Perez told Spanish radio on Thursday a deal has been done.

Share

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Petar permalink
    August 27, 2009 9:19 pm

    I don’t see why United would need another winger when they already have a super talented player stuck in the reserves named Zoran Tosic. I’ve watched him play many many many for Partizan and can honestly say he is of the highest quality and already better than Nani (and I’m not being biased just because I’m Serbian) :P I can’t beleive he’s already been their since January and only has played once in the league. I mean he scored twice for Serbia a couple weeks ago and this week in the reserves he scored once and assisted the other two goals. Not to mention he is an expert set piece take, Sorry I’ve gone on a bit of a rant but I just hate to see a great player go to waste, especially one of my favorites :)

  2. August 27, 2009 9:35 pm

    I would understand this only if they buy Franck Ribéry, the other way it would be an awful mistake.

  3. August 27, 2009 10:53 pm

    Yep. It’s a done deal. And you heard it here on WDKF first.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/8225783.stm

    • August 28, 2009 10:06 am

      That link just says they’ve agreed to sell him and he’ll have a medical later today.

      To quote someone unimportant: “It ain’t over till it’s over!”

Trackbacks

  1. Arjen Robben off to Allianz? Real Madrid look to unload Benjamin …

Leave a Reply

