Skip to content

I am general!

March 20, 2009

Looking back on the heady days of student-hood and life in a halls of residence in particular, for most overseas students from my region this would be our first exposure into the perilous world of LAN games.

One such game which was overly popular back then was Counter-Strike. A game which invoked a sense of brotherhood and a hunger for blood which was second to none. If you’re familiar with the schematics of CS, you’ll know that the experience is not fully satisfying unless played with your 5.1 speaker and sub woofer system turned up to the point where you can feel your shot fired into your opponents face. Thats right, FACE. Sigh, good times.

In the face!

In the face!

The only problem with this scenario is that there might be times i.e early hours of a weekday, when your sleeping neighbor who has a 9am class the next day might not appreciate hearing round after round of gunfire.

I pity the guy who lived next door. There would be times when he wouldn’t be able to take it anymore and would subsequently attempt to hammer down my door with his fists while reminding me that its past his bedtime and that I should be quiet. To which I would respond with the menacing scowl of a defiant five year old, “Don’t you know me?? I AM GENERAL!”. Sigh, good times.

Theofanis “Fanis” Gekas, Greek international striker who is apparently on loan at Portsmouth, has also dished out a similar frivolous tantrum.

“I don’t deserve something like this, such treatment. I think my CV is worthy of respect,” he fumed.

“Through my efforts on the field in the past year, I’ve shown people what I’m capable of. I deserve more respect.

“I didn’t walk away from Leverkusen – a club going for the German Championship – in order to come over here, at a club fighting for survival only, and be seated in the stands.

“I don’t care if there’s a new manager. I only know Mr Hart keeps ignoring me without even giving me a single, simple, explanation.

“He should give me a chance first and then, if I fail, he can judge me.”

This guy comes into the premiership with awards for being the top scorer in the bundesliga and the Greek Superleague so you could deem his arguements solid yet one can’t help but wonder why he agreed to go to Pompey in the first place, a little bit of homework on his part would be able to show him that a team like Wigan would have been the better choice.

Adams thought he hired a groundsman

Adams thought he hired a groundsman. or a village person.

In a cosmic twist of comedic irony, Andriy Voronin, that dastardly pony-tailed marauder who left Liverpool only to take the Bundesliga by storm has also had a little fit.

“I could not care less about the idea that Liverpool know what I am doing for Hertha. I am scoring goals for Hertha, not for them.
I really do not give a damn about the way they are thinking about me.”

My my. I can say with complete confidence on behalf of the scousers that the feeling is mutual.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 11:21 am

    remember bandit king? hoho.

    andriy voronin is just pissed off he got loaned off to the bundesliga, but i do have another theory: i think the boys from the dressing room took the mickey of him and his wife abit too much hes glad he away from that. because of this – http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article945744.ece

  2. March 20, 2009 2:50 pm

    hahaha that link was to be the subject of my next post. Should I laugh at it of feel sorry for those involved? I mean look at the bugger! he’s wearing a shiny silver suit for crying out loud. A shiny silver suit! Like a spaceman!

  3. koppette permalink
    March 21, 2009 9:13 pm

    The bundesliga is crap. And so is voronin. I’m not bitter :p

  4. March 21, 2009 10:32 pm

    lol, i saw him celebrating a goal on the tele recently. he still looks the same, with that daft pony-tail.

Leave a Reply

